Public Document Pack

ASHFIELD DISTRICT COUNCIL



Council Offices, Urban Road, Kirkby in Ashfield Nottingham NG17 8DA

Agenda

Extraordinary Council

Date: Monday, 24th July, 2023

Time: **6.00 pm**

Venue: Council Chamber, Council Offices, Urban Road,

Kirkby-in-Ashfield

For any further information please contact:

Lynn Cain

lynn.cain@ashfield.gov.uk

01623 457317

Extraordinary Council

<u>Membership</u>

Chairman:Councillor Dale GroundsVice-Chairman:Councillor Arnie Hankin

Councillors:

Kier Barsby Jamie Bell Will Bostock lan Briggs

Jodine Cronshaw
Anna Ellis
Andy Gascoyne
Paul Grafton
Oliver Hay

Samantha Deakin
Andy Gascoyne
Julie Gregory
Vicki Heslop

Tom Hollis Christopher Huskinson

Dawn Justice Sarah Lewsey Trevor Locke Rachel Madden Sarah Madigan Gordon Mann Cathy Mason Andy Meakin Warren Nuttall Nicholas Parvin Matthew Relf Phil Rostance Dave Shaw John Smallridge Helen-Ann Smith **David Walters** Lee Waters John Wilmott

Jason Zadrozny

FILMING/AUDIO RECORDING NOTICE

This meeting may be subject to filming or audio recording. If you have any queries regarding this, please contact Members' Services on 01623 457317.

SUMMONS

You are hereby requested to attend a meeting of the Council to be held at the time/place and on the date mentioned above for the purpose of transacting the business set out below.

Theresa Hodgkinson Chief Executive

| AGENDA | Page |
|--------|------|
| , | |

- 1. To receive apologies for absence, if any.
- 2. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary or Personal Interests and/or Non-Registrable Interests.
- 3. Nominations for Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman and Outgoing 5 10 Councillor Presentations.



| Report To: | EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL |
|------------------------|---|
| Date: | 24 JULY 2023 |
| Heading: | NOMINATIONS FOR HONORARY ALDERMAN/ALDERWOMAN AND OUTGOING COUNCILLOR PRESENTATIONS. |
| Executive Lead Member: | NONE |
| Ward/s: | ALL |
| Key Decision: | NO |
| Subject to Call-In: | NO |

Purpose of Report

Council approved a policy for the enrolment of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen at its meeting held on the 16 May 2019, which incorporated the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972. This report provides the nominations for Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen for 2023.

In addition, following the District Elections 2023, this report also identifies those Members eligible for their outgoing Councillor Presentation, celebrating their work as a Councillor prior to the 2023 District Elections.

Recommendation(s)

- That Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman on those former Councillors nominated for the title as detailed below, in recognition of their eminent services to the Council:
 - John Baird
 - o Christian Chapman
- in accordance with the approved Policy, Members enrolled be awarded a framed Certificate of Conferral of the status of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman which carries the Common Seal of the Council (witnessed by the Chairman of the Council and the Chief Executive) and a Badge of Office including the title 'Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman'.

 Note that the following former Councillors are eligible for their Outgoing Councillor presentations following their term/s of office serving the community of Ashfield;

John Baird
Chris Baron
Christian Chapman
Ciaran Brown
Melanie Darrington
Andrew Harding
David Hennigan
David Martin
Lauren Mitchell
Keir Morrison
Kevin Rostance
Caroline Wilkinson
Dan Williamson

Reasons for Recommendation(s)

The appointment of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen is a means of giving recognition to former Councillors of Ashfield District Council who in the opinion of the Council have rendered eminent service to the Council and the District.

Outgoing Councillor Awards recognise the diligence of service Councillors have provided during their term/s of office.

Alternative Options Considered

In accordance with the Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman Policy, all Councillors were given the opportunity to put forward their nominations but no additional nominations were received.

Detailed Information

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 permits a local authority to confer the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman upon persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, "rendered eminent services to the council as past members of that council, but who are not then Members of the council".

The Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman Policy sets out the process for awarding the courtesy title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman and the rights and privileges it confers.

In presenting both Alderman / Alderwoman Nominations and outgoing Councillor Awards, Ashfield District Council is recognising the pivotal role that Councillors play in the district, both representing

constituents and shaping the future prosperity of Ashfield.

Nominations

All Members of the Council were requested to put forward nominations for Alderman / Alderwoman, with 2 being received. These are:

| John Baird | May 1999 – May 2011 |
|-------------------|---------------------|
| COM Baild | May 2019 - May 2023 |
| Christian Chapman | May 2015 – May 2023 |

Outgoing Councillor Presentations

Following the District Elections held in May 2023, the following Former Councillors are eligible to receive their Outgoing Councillor Presentation.

| John Baird | May 1999 – May 2011 May 2019 - May 2023 |
|--------------------|--|
| Chris Baron | May 1995 – May 2003 May 2011 – May 2023 |
| Christian Chapman | May 2015 – May 2023 |
| Ciaran Brown | May 2019 – March 2021 |
| Melanie Darrington | May 2019 – May 2023 |
| Andrew Harding | May 2019 – May 2023 |
| David Hennigan | May 2019 – May 2023 |
| David Martin | May 2019 – May 2023 |
| Lauren Mitchell | May 2015 – May 2023 |
| Keir Morrison | May 2011 – May 2023 |
| Kevin Rostance | May 2015 – May 2023 |
| Caroline Wilkinson | May 2019 – May 2023 |
| Dan Williamson | May 2019 – May 2023 |
| 1 | |

Implications

Corporate Plan:

Ashfield District Council values the democratic role that Councillors have in representing the people of Ashfield. The Aldermen/Alderwomen Policy recognises the contributions of past Councillors to the Council and the District.

Legal:

The legal provisions are set out in the body of the report.

Finance:

| Budget Area | Implication |
|--|--|
| General Fund – Revenue Budget | Costs incurred are expected to be minimal and exceptional in nature. As such any costs incurred should be contained within the annual Civic Budget for that year |
| General Fund – Capital Programme | n/a |
| Housing Revenue Account – Revenue Budget | n/a |
| Housing Revenue Account – Capital Programme | n/a |

Risk:

| Risk | Mitigation |
|---|------------|
| There are no significant risks associated with the enrolment of Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen | None |

Human Resources:

There are no significant HR to the enrolment of Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen, as according to the criteria set out in the protocol, this relates to former members of the Council and not employees.

Environmental/Sustainability:

None

Equalities:

The enrolment of Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen does not have a negative or positive impact in relation to any group of people with protected characteristics. The proposed criteria as set out in the

policy will be applied to each past member nominated and considered by Council for approval on an individual basis.

Other Implications:

None

Reason(s) for Urgency

None

Reason(s) for Exemption

None

Background Papers

None

Report Author and Contact Officer

Michael Joy ASSISTANT DIRECTOR - DEMOCRACY michael.joy@ashfield.gov.uk 01623 457232

Sponsoring Executive Director

Ruth Dennis

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR - GOVERNANCE

ruth.dennis@ashfield.gov.uk

01623 457009

